The Hellraiser Thread

Started by Silver Nemesis, Tue, 18 Oct 2022, 12:38

Previous topic - Next topic
Tue, 18 Oct 2022, 12:38 Last Edit: Tue, 18 Oct 2022, 16:35 by Silver Nemesis
I was going to post my thoughts on Hellraiser in response to colors' review in the 'Recommend a Movie' thread, but then I decided the franchise might as well have a thread of its own.

I'm not a big fan of Hellraiser, or Clive Barker in general, but I do find his work morbidly fascinating in the same way I find H R Giger's work interesting. I went through a phase of reading many of Barker's books back when I was a student (I read The Books of Blood Volumes I-III, The Hellbound Heart, Cabal, The Great and Secret Show, The Thief of Always, Everville, Coldheart Canyon, Mister B. Gone and several of his comics; I started reading Imajica but never finished it), and I have seen all of the movies he directed and most of the adaptations of his work. I don't like his stuff, but I do occasionally revisit it when I'm in the mood to be disturbed. The three films of his I've seen the most times are Hellraiser I and II and Candyman (1992).

The first Hellraiser film is probably the best British horror movie of the eighties, though that isn't saying much. Barker's often described his work as 'dark fantasy' rather than pure horror, and in the original Hellraiser he did a good job of suggesting a broader expansive mythology on a comparatively small budget. In the first film he offers a glimpse of another world – Hell, or the Labyrinth – and the various nightmare creatures that haunt it. Pinhead, or 'Lead Cenobite', is but one of the many weird beings who inhabit that world. The first film also introduces us to three other Cenobites, the Engineer (the monster that chases Kirsty) and the skeletal dragon creature that seems to act as the guardian of the Lament Configuration (that monster isn't in the original book, so I'm not entirely sure what it's meant to be).